Buy Online or Call 1-888-425-6739 | 8:30 AM - 7 PM EST | 7 Days a Week

FLIR Secure™ Frequently Asked Questions

FLIR Secure™ App – FAQ

FLIR Cloud connectivity solution

Q: What is FLIR Secure™?

A: FLIR Secure™ is an exclusive cloud-enabled service that gives you remote access to your system over the Internet. It does not require network configuration, DDNS registration, or port forwarding. Each Lorex system has a Device ID: a unique code that allows your system to handshake with our servers for a secure, instant connection over the Internet.

FLIR Secure™ supports remote access with Android™, and iOS devices. You can completely set up your system on any smartphone or tablet by simply scanning its QR code. A computer is not required for the initial setup. You can find the app in the App Store or the Google Play Store.

Please note that an upload speed of 2 Mbps is required for remote video streaming (3 Mbps and above recommended).

Q: The system is prompting me for a firmware upgrade. Is this required?

A: Yes, your system's firmware must be upgraded to the latest version to get the best experience using the FLIR Secure™ app. The system automatically alerts you if there is a firmware upgrade available when it is connected to the Internet. Once the firmware update is complete, check the Documentation section of your system's product page for PC or Mac Client Software. Check the Google Play Store for Android™ or the App Store for iOS mobile app updates.

Important: During the firmware upgrade process, do not power off your system or disconnect it from the Internet. Firmware upgrades typically take between 5 and 10 minutes to complete.

Q: What do I do if I am having difficulty connecting to the system using FLIR Secure™?

A: First make sure your system is connected to the Internet. Then restart the system by turning it off and on (see your system's instruction manual for the correct way to do this).

Double-check that you have entered the correct Device ID, User Name, and Password for your system.

  • Device ID: You can find the Device ID printed on the QR code label on the top panel of your system.

  • User Name: Default is admin.
  • Password: Default is 000000. For security, the first time you connect with the app you will be asked to change the password.

Connection issues may also be caused by a slow connection. An upload speed of 2 Mbps or higher is required to enable video streaming over the Internet. You can reduce the quality of the system's sub stream to improve the performance and reliability of the connection. The sub stream is the lower-quality video stream that is used to stream video to devices over the Internet.

NOTE: Changing sub stream settings does not affect the quality of recordings saved to the system's hard drive. The quality for recordings is controlled by the main stream settings.

For instructions on how to change sub stream settings, please read your system's instruction manual.

Q: How many users can be connected to the system remotely at the same time?

A: Up to three users can be connected to the system at the same time.

Q: I have forgotten the password for my system. What do I do?

A: If you have forgotten the password for your system, you must call Lorex Technical Support to have the password reset. For security, there is no way to reset the password yourself. Before calling Technical Support, please ensure your system is connected to your network (connect the system to your router with an Ethernet cable and restart the system).

Q: How can I view my systems on a desktop or laptop computer?

A: If you want to connect to your system over the Internet on a PC or Mac computer, you must use the FLIR Cloud™ or Lorex Stratus™ client software. To find the right client software for your system:

  1. Search for the model number of your system on www.lorextechnology.com.
  2. Click on your product in the search results.
  3. Click on the Documentation tab.

In June we are launching a FLIR Secure™ web application, which you can use to manage your system over a web browser. Keep an eye on our Support Alert Updates for the launch announcement.

Q: When I connect, I get the message “Current connection is connected via relay, the connection will be disconnected in 10 min.” What does that mean?

A: This message indicates the system is connected using relay mode. Relay mode works in the event that a hardware firewall or other security settings prevent direct peer-to-peer connection between the system and the viewing device. In relay mode, the video is sent from the system to the viewing device through the FLIR Cloud™ servers.

Because of the high bandwidth usage in relay mode, the connection will be automatically disconnected after 10 minutes of continuous use. After being disconnected, you can reconnect to the system right away.

Last Updated: 7/6/2016


Untitled Document